Skip to content ↓
St Andrew's College Dublin St Andrew's College Dublin

Young Economist of the Year 2022

Outstanding success at the YEOTY Awards Ceremony 

The Young Economist of the Year Awards Ceremony took place last (Thursday 28 April) in the O'Reilly Hall, UCD.  St Andrew's College had an incredibly successful day, winning a total of five awards.  Three of these were Special Interest Awards (sponsored by various Universities/Economic Institutions). 


BEST FEMALE ENTRY/WOMEN IN ECONOMICS AWARD                                                            Sponsored by the University of Limerick                                                                                                      Project: The Metaverse Economy & How the Metaverse Affects the Real-World Economics

Prize: €500                                         Winner:  ZiQi Ma (4ON)

BEST COVID-19 RELATED PROJECT                                                                                        Sponsored by Maynooth University                                                                                                                Project: An investigation of the Irish tourism sector’s vulnerability to the Covid-19 pandemic

Prize: €500                     Winner: Jeremy Browett (6IB)    


BEST ENVIRONMENTAL ECONOMICS PROJECT                                                                Sponsored by UCD                                                                                                                                                     Project: The Economic Viability of Small Modular Reactors for Ireland

Prize: €300                                    Winner: Tim Celano (5SY)


Project: The impact of Covid-19 on the global supply chain crisis in Ireland

Prize: €100                    Winner: Sophie O'Connor (2MR)                                                                                                                                                       


Project: Covid-19’s impact on Global Financial Markets

Winner: Hannah Poynton (2ZA)

Tim Celano (5th Year) with Prof Kevin Denny (UCD School of Economics)

Jeremy Browett (6IB) with Prof Rowena Pecchenino (Maynooth University School of Economics)

Myrtle Collins (5th Year)

Jessica Foley (2WS), Kate Flood (2MR) and Tara Holahan (2ME)

Nadia Kamali (2MR), Sophie O'Connor (2MR) and Alisha Manoj (2RD)

Mr Doyle (Teacher of Business and Economics) with participating students

For more photos please click here