Skip to content ↓
St Andrew's College Dublin St Andrew's College Dublin

Young Economist of the Year Awards


St Andrew's College had an exceptionally good evening at the Young Economist of the Year Awards on Thursday 20 May.

Sixteen of our original forty-one entries were classified as 'gold medal' awards, meaning that they were eligible to  win further awards last night at the Finals. Ten of these sixteen  gold medalists went on to win further prizes, including four first places.  This is a fantastic achievement and we congratulate all our students who took part.

Saskia Kirland is the Sixth Year Winner and Overall Winner in the IGEES Category for Projects on Government Economic Policy.  As part of her prize, Saskia will meet the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform, Michael McGrath, next week to present her project. 

Senior Environmental and Sustainability Award: First Place went to Fergal Francis and Saskia Kirkland, both Sixth Year students.

Junior Environmental and Sustainability Award: Third Place went to Erin Egan (Second Year).

First Year:

First Place: Eoin Kinsman

Second Year: 

Second Place: Melisende Duignan

Joint Third Place: Rachel Connolly

Joint Third Place: Fiala Ní Múrchú

Third Year:

First Place: Johnny Doyle and Oskar McDermott

Fifth Year:

Second Place: Mia Ricci and Grace McFadyen

6th Year:

2nd Place: Matthew McCrea and Grace Westrup

The programme and recording of the event are available on the Young Economist website.